Company Blog Support
Frank Hagan
Updated

Contents

    Back to Top

    Card View Permissions

    About Card View Permissions

    Applies to: ONTRAPORT Plus and above.

    Displaying, moving and editing Card View is dependent on the User's permissions. This article discusses how Permissions affect the use of Card View by your team members.

    As the account owner you are the Administrator of the account.  Administrators have all permissions so if you don't have other team members with more limited access you can ignore this article. It applies only to non-Administrators working inside your ONTRAPORT account. See our article Roles and Permissions for more information. 

    View, Move and Edit Columns and Cards

    Users can reorder columns, move Cards into different columns, edit columns and Cards depending on their Permissions. Moving a Card into another column automatically updates the dropdown field set in the Select a field to display as columns dropdown under Card View Settings.

    The ability to view, move and edit columns and cards is controlled by the Group permissions, Role permissions and Field Editor permissions.

    Displaying the Group to Users

    The first level of permissions to consider is the Contact Group's Permissions found in the dropdown when creating and editing the Group. 

    • Only I can view and edit - No other user will see the Group
    • Only I can edit, everyone can view - Users will be able to see the Group but cannot change the underlying Conditions that form the Group
    • Everyone can view and edit - Users will be able to see the Group and change the Conditions that form the Group.

    Group permissions that can affect being able to see the group in card view

    You can use these Group Permissions to prevent your team members from seeing a sensitive Group, no matter what their other permissions are, by selecting Only I can view and edit. To share the Group with the team members you must choose either of the bottom two options, Everyone can view and edit or Only I can edit, everyone can view

    Display of the Dropdown Field

    If your User's Role does not have permission to View the dropdown field used for Card View they will not be able to see the Group in Card View. ONTRAPORT will force the display of the Group in List View only.

    Check the permissions in the Field Editor at Contacts > Settings > Field Editor. Click the P Permissions icon in the section where your dropdown field is located:

    Contact Record section permissions

    If a field is selected for the Sort fields by dropdown in the Card View Settings dialog, the User should also have at least view permission. The same holds true for the Color Field, if one is provided. 

    If the Card has other fields listed on it that are not allowed to be viewed by their Role the field will be replaced with a notice of "You do not have permission to view this field".   

    View of Individual Contacts

    The User's Role must have permissions to see the individual Contact Record. Verify this setting in Administration > User Management > Team Roles & Permission Management. Click on the Role in question to see the specific permissions granted for Contacts

    Card View depends on being able to see the Contacts in Role Permissions

    Can View Individual Contacts

    If set to "All" every User will be able to see all the Contacts in the Group. The other options are:

    • Owned By Me and My Roles - The User will be able to see the Contacts that have him or her as the Contact Owner, and all the Contacts that have another User with the same Role. This would allow team members with the "Salesperson" Role to see every other salesperson's contacts.
    • Owned By Me and My Subordinates - The User will be able to see the contacts that have him or her as the Contact Owner. If the User has other Users reporting to him or her, such as a Sales Manager with Salespeople reporting to them, then he or she will also be able to see the contacts who have those salespeople as Contact Owner. The User will not be able to see contacts owned by another Sales Manager or the Salespeople reporting to that Sales Manager. 
    • Owned By Me - The User will only be able to see the contacts that have him or her as the Contact Owner.

    Move Columns and Cards

    Users can reorder columns if all of the following are true:

    • They can view the Group as explained above.
    • They can view the field selected under Select a field to display as columns as explained above.
    • The Card View Settings dialog has Sort cards by: set to "Manual Sort"

    Card View Settings dialog

     

    Users can move Cards between columns if they have permission to:

    • Create/Edit contacts as determined by their Role permissions, as explained above.
    • Can edit the field selected for the Select a field to display as columns as set in the Field Editor section permissions (explained above). 
    • Can edit the optional field selected under Sort cards by: as set in the Field Editor section permissions (set it to "Manual Sort" to prevent this from being a show stopper).

    If the User selects multiple Cards to move to another column only those Cards they are allowed to move will be transferred. They will receive an error message "Warning! You don't have permission to edit some or all of these records. For those records which you lack permission to edit, we did not move them to a column". 

    Edit Columns and Cards 

    Columns can be edited using the Field Editor style pop up accessed by the pencil icon. 

    edit the columns in Card View

    The User's Role must have permissions to edit fields in Administration > User Management > Team Roles and Permission Management under Contacts and Manage Fields. 

    Manage fields permission in the Role Permissions screen

    If the User's Role does not have this permission the Edit Column icons will not appear. 

    To edit Cards, the User's Role must have permission to Create/Edit contacts. Verify this setting in Administration > User Management > Team Roles & Permission Management. Click on the Role in question to see the specific permissions granted for Contacts

    Card View depends on being able to see the Contacts in Role Permissions 

    To edit any fields on the Card, the User's Role must have permission to Edit the field in the Field Editor Section the field is located in. Navigate to Contacts > Settings > Field Editor and click the P Permissions icon in the section where the field is located:

    Contact Record section permissions

    Articles in this section

    Created - Updated
    Have more questions? Submit a request

    Comments

    Powered by Zendesk